envelope iconclick here to subscribe to our mailing list

The Ministry of Health provides six food and nutrition guidelines for healthy adult New Zealanders.  The eMark system is designed to complement these guidelines by helping you to choose a variety of foods in appropriate serving sizes.

  1. Maintain a healthy body weight by eating well and through daily physical activity.
  2. Eat well by including a variety of nutritious foods from each of the four major food groups* each day.
    • Eat plenty of vegetables and fruits.
    • Eat plenty of breads and cereals, preferably wholegrain.
    • Include milk and milk products in your diet, preferably reduced or low-fat options.
    • Include lean meat, poultry, seafood, eggs or alternatives like beans, lentils and tofu.
  3. Prepare foods or choose pre-prepared foods, drinks and snacks:
    • with minimal added fat, especially saturated fat
    • that are low in salt; if using salt, choose iodised salt
    • with little added sugar; limit your intake of high-sugar foods.
  4. Drink plenty of liquids each day, especially water.
  5. If choosing to drink alcohol, limit your intake.
  6. Purchase, prepare, cook and store food to ensure food safety.

The healthy eating key: choose mostly eMarks 1 and 2, some 3's - blue and green

*The eMark system includes more than four food groups and some have slightly different names to those that the Ministry of Health use (for example we call ‘milk and milk products’, ‘milk yoghurt and cheese’), but they still cover all of the same foods.

See how it all works in your personal eMark meal plan